Distance Learning Scholarships at UK Universities for Developing Commonwealth Countries


The Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships offer students from developing Commonwealth countries the opportunity to study for a UK Master’s degree while living and working in their home country.

Established in 2002, the scholarship scheme is part of the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) and UK Department for International Development (DFID) commitment to exploring new methods of scholarship delivery.

Rather than offering these scholarships directly to students, the CSC works with UK universities to identify appropriate courses and recruit candidates. To date, it has funded courses at over 20 UK institutions, awarding over 1,000 scholarships to students from across the developing Commonwealth.

To apply for these scholarships, candidates must:

  • Be a citizen of a developing Commonwealth country (see below), refugee, or British protected person; and
  • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country (see below); and
  • Hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard. A lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience may be considered in certain cases.

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships may not be held concurrently for more than one course.

If selected for a scholarship, candidates must be resident in a developing Commonwealth country and must not undertake study towards any other qualification for the duration of their award.

When submitting their application to the CSC, all candidates must provide at least one reference and hold an offer to start their chosen course of study in the 2017-2018 academic year.

Selection criteria:

  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • Potential impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country

The closing date for the submission of all applications for 2016/17 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships is 12 May 2017 at 23.59GMT.

For more details and to Apply, click here

Speak up