230 Fully-funded Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for Students from Developing Countries


The Commonwealth Shared Scholarships (CSS) allow students from Developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the UK benefit from graduate study at a University in the UK which will help them to contribute toward the development of their home countries.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (with funding from DFID) and UK universities, to support scholarships for students from developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the UK.

Shared Scholarships are offered on an annual basis for Master’s study only.

To apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship, candidates must:

  • Be a Commonwealth citizen, refugee, or British protected person
  • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2017
  • By August 2017, hold a first degree of either first or upper second class (2:1) classification, or lower second class (2:2) classification plus a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree)
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a developed country
  • Be unable, either yourself or through your family, to pay to study in the UK

Sponsoring institutions must confirm that candidates are sufficiently fluent in written and oral English to pursue their proposed studies immediately, as no pre-course English Language Teaching is available under these awards.

Method of Application
You should apply to study an eligible Master’s course at a UK university that is participating in the Shared Scholarship scheme. And you must make your scholarship application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS). Before applying, you must check with your UK university for their specific advice and rules for applying, and for their own closing date for applications.

You can apply for more than one course and/or to more than one university, but you may only accept one offer of a Shared Scholarship. The CSC will not accept any applications that are not submitted via the EAS to your UK university or applications directly from individuals.

Application Deadline: 29 March 2017

Details and how to apply are provided here


  1. My name is Zarihun Tolera I’m intersted to follow my masters in ypur institution and I have committement to do all duities which may given to me. And I will use all my my potential in order to realize my dream and take my country from extream poverty. Currently I’m teaching in one of Ethiopian university called Miza-Tepi university,therefore pleas I will wait for your response!

Speak up