2016 EDCTP- WHO/TDR Sponsored Clinical Research Fellowships For African Students


EDCTP and WHO/TDR are jointly implementing clinical fellowships to support researchers and key members of clinical trial research teams from Low and Middle Income Countries (LMICs). WHO/TDR will fund fellows employed by a research institution (home organisation) in any LMICs for placements in pharmaceutical companies and PDPs (host organisations) either in or outside Europe. EDCTP will fund fellows employed by a sub-Saharan African home organisation for placements in European-based pharmaceutical hosting organisations to train and develop specific clinical research skills of relevance to developing interventions against PRDs.

Study Subject(s): Fellowships are awarded to acquire specific skills in clinical research and development through placements in pharmaceutical companies, product development partnerships (PDPs) and research institutions.
Course Level: Fellowships are available to early to mid-career clinical researchers and key members of clinical trial research teams to acquire experience and develop skills for conducting and implementing clinical trials outside an academic or public sector setting.
Scholarship Provider: European & Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP) and WHO/TDR
Scholarship can be taken at:
WHO/TDR placement in Europe or outside Europe and EDCTP placement in Europe

Eligibility: For EDCTP and WHO/TDR:
-At the deadline for the submission of proposals, the fellow must
-Be a post-graduate (MSc or PhD) or medical graduate with clinical and/or research experience in infectious diseases
-Have obtained their first degree within 15 years of submission of the application
-Have been a researcher or clinical staff member employed for the last 12 months in an organisation with a registered legal entity in sub-Saharan Africa, conducting clinical research activities in the scope of the EDCTP2 and WHO/TDR programme.
-For EDCTP: The applicant must be a legal entity established in sub-Saharan Africa and must be the home organisation employing the fellow
-For WHO/TDR: The fellow must be a national or citizen, and resident in a LMIC

Scholarship Open for International Students: Researchers from low- and middle-income countries (Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, American Samoa, Angola, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde (Capo Verde), Central African Republic, Chad, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Dem. Rep., Congo, Rep., Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Arab Rep., El Salvador, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, The Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Islamic Rep., Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea, Dem Rep., Kosovo, Kyrgyz Republic, Lao PDR, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Macedonia, FYR, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Fed. Sts., Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Romania, Rwanda, Samoa, São Tomé and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, RB, Vietnam, West Bank and Gaza, Yemen, Rep., Zambia and Zimbabwe) and sub-Saharan Africa (Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Brazzaville), Congo (Democratic Republic), Ivory Coast, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe) can apply for these clinical fellowships.

Scholarship Description: The purpose of this Joint Call for Proposals is to support researchers and key members of clinical trial research teams from Low and Middle Income Countries (LMICs) to acquire specific skills in clinical research and development through placements in pharmaceutical companies, product development partnerships (PDPs) and research institutions. As a result, there are fewer than the required researchers and clinical staff from LMICs assuming leadership roles in clinical research for poverty-related diseases (PRDs). EDCTP and WHO/TDR are jointly implementing this fellowship scheme to support researchers to obtain these essential skills and ensure synergies between researchers and clinical staff, pharmaceutical companies, product development partnerships (PDPs) and research institutions. This partnership is aimed at increasing the number of individuals trained, resulting in an increased impact on clinical research outputs and development of additional capacity in LMICs.

Number of award(s): Up to 25 grants (maximum of 10 grants funded by EDCTP and 15 funded by WHO/TDR) are available.

Duration of award(s): For EDCTP and WHO/TDR: Placements sought shall be for a minimum period of 12 months up to a maximum period of 24 months, following which there will be a re-integration period of six months. For WHO/TDR: Placements sought shall be for a minimum period of 6 months and a maximum period of 12 months.

What does it cover? The grant covers one economy class return ticket (home – host organisation – home); a monthly stipend; health insurance; an allowance to cover essential educational support materials; support to attend relevant meetings during the course of the fellowship; and funds to support the six month reintegration period.

Selection Criteria: The evaluation committee will evaluate and score proposals against three criteria: ‘excellence’, ‘impact’ and ‘quality and efficiency of the implementation’. The evaluation committee gives evaluation scores to each criterion. Each criterion will be scored between 0 and 5. The overall threshold applying to the sum of the three individual scores will be 10. For full applications involving re-integration plan projects with human participants, and/or human tissues, cells or personal data, the evaluation process will include an assessment of ethical issues.

Notification: The evaluation results for the first stage will be available by 14 June 2016. The evaluation results of the second stage will be available by 7 October 2016.

How to Apply: The application must be submitted online via EDCTP grants. Only registered users of the EDCTP grants system can apply for grants and therefore you are advised to register on the system as soon as possible

Online Application

Scholarship Application Deadline: The application deadlines are 28 January 2016 (Stage 1) and 21 July 2016 (Stage 2: Training plan – EDCTP only).

Further Official Scholarship Information and Application


Speak up